Equality and Human Rights Commission appointments

New board and budget mark a new era.

EHRC board members

A new board for the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) has been announced today by the Minister for Women and Equalities, Maria Miller.

At the same time, Mrs Miller has announced the Commission’s indicative budget for the next two years.

The EHRC is the UK’s designated equality body and ‘A-rated’ National Human Rights Institution. As the country’s expert body on equality and human rights issues, and guardian of legal rights, it has an important role to fulfill.


Image above (l-r), top row: Caroline Waters, Chris Holmes, Evelyn Asante-Mensah.
Bottom row: Laura Carstensen, Swaran Singh, Sarah Veale

The new board announced today

Deputy Chair: Caroline Waters OBE

Disability Commissioner: Chris Holmes MBE

  • Evelyn Asante-Mensah OBE
  • Laura Carstensen
  • Professor Swaran Singh
  • Sarah Veale CBE

“The EHRC has an important role to play in tackling discrimination and promoting equality and human rights in this country,” said Mrs Miller. “Today’s new board appointments, along with the recent appointment of Baroness O’Neill as chair, marks the start of a new era for the EHRC.”

New challenges

In May 2012, the Government announced a number of reforms to the EHRC, including the appointment of a new chair and a smaller board, with a greater focus on business and corporate governance skills, to provide strategic leadership for the EHRC.

The first task of the new board will be to agree on the Commission’s business plan for the next financial year, following a comprehensive review of the EHRC’s budget.

Further information


Follow us on:

Follow DCMS on Facebook Follow DCMS on Twitter Follow DCMS on Flickr Follow DCMS on YouTube